Music and Arts Ministries

Questions or to Chat about our Music Ministry, contact Ms Cristen - cristen@blacksburgumc.org

Music Ministry Sessions Banner.png

Introducing Music Ministry Sessions. During Fall 2021 our music ministry will offer opportunities for children (5+), youth, and adults to sing and play their instruments during three and four week sessions. This opportunity will allow those who struggle with committing for an entire year or semester to commit for a limited period of time.

 

However, you can register for as many sessions as you like! Please note that we will be capping participation at this time so that we can remain socially distanced, if we exceed the cap you may be asked not to participate in a particular session if you are signed up for multiple sessions. We ask that you remain flexible during this time as we try to both grow our program and follow CDC guidelines. We are hopeful that those who register will be in attendance for most of the rehearsals/services listed. 

Session 1 - Children (5+), Youth, and Adults
"Grounding: Getting Back on Our Feet"- Following Jesus grounds us so that we discover peace and joy whatever we may be facing, wherever we may be.

Wed Sep 8, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Sep 12, 11am: Worship Leadership

 

Wed Sep 15, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Sep 19, 11am: Worship Leadership

 

Wed Sep 22, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Sep 26, 11am:Worship Leadership

Session 2 - Adults Only
"TORN: The Church & LGBTQ+ Ministry"- In a time when public discourse has turned toxic, we want to model something different: a holy conversation where we honor and respect our difference while also being honest with our beliefs. 

Wed Oct 6, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Oct 10, 11am: Worship Leadership

 

Wed Oct 13, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Oct 17, 11am: Worship Leadership

 

Wed Oct 20, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Oct 24, 11am: Worship Leadership

 

Wed Oct 27, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Oct 31, 11am: Worship Leadership

Session 3 - Children (5+), Youth, & Adults
"On the Verge/Emergence"- Join us this November as we honor our past, acknowledge the present, and glimpse our future...together!

Wed Nov 3, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Nov 7, 11am: Worship Leadership

 

Wed Nov 10, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Nov 14, 11am: Worship Leadership

 

Wed Nov 17, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Nov 21, 11am: Worship Leadership

Session 4 - Adults Only
"The Weary World Rejoices"- We'll seek God's help to turn our sadness into singing!

Mon Nov 22, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Nov 28, 11am: Worship Leadership

 

Wed Dec 1, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Dec 5, 11am: Worship Leadership

 

Wed Dec 15, 6:30-8pm: Rehearsal

Sun Dec 19, 11am: Worship Leadership

Special Opportunities Banner.png

Special Opportunity 1: Adults Only
Community Choral Event 

Wed Oct 6, 5:30-6:30pm: Rehearsal

Wed Oct 13, 5:30-6:30pm: Rehearsal

Sat Oct 16, Time TBA:

Rehearsal Sun Oct 17, 4pm: Concert at Blacksburg Presbyterian Church

 

Special Opportunity 2: Children (5+), Youth, & Adults
Christmas Cantata! register here

Wed Sep 22, 5:30-6:30pm: Rehearsal 1

Wed Oct 20, 5:30-6:30pm: Rehearsal 2

Wed Nov 10, 5:30-6:30pm: Rehearsal 3

Wed Nov 17, 5:30-6:30pm: Rehearsal 4

Wed Dec 8, 6:30-8pm: Dress Rehearsal 1

Sat Dec 11, 10am-12pm: Dress Rehearsal 2

Sun Dec 12, 11am: Cantata